Monday, October 14, 2013

Missing Monday: Brett

What is "Missing Monday"? Every Monday, I will be posting about a special needs child that is available for adoption. They're "missing" because they do not have a family to call their own. Their forever family has yet to find them but by advocating for them and putting their picture and their story out there, I am hoping that their family will find them.

How can you deny this adorable face? Doesn't he look like a big ball of FUN?!


Meet Brett.

Brett is an adorable, lovable, and handsome 6-year-old. He was born with cerebral palsy and gets around on his own by crawling but isn't able to walk. Therapy will do wonders for him! His physical disability limits his lower body, specifically his legs and feet, but he is very strong in the upper body and crawls very quickly.

Brett is very smart and curious. Due to having an institutional life thus far, he does have some learning and language delays but he still speaks in complete phrases around people he trusts. He enjoys cars, coloring, and games. He gets excited by pictures of dogs and other animals (he might LOVE living in a home with pets). He plays well with other children, likes classes, enjoys making pyramids, and loves it when he is read to.

His ideal family should be prepared to deal with some institutional behaviors and traumas. He will need the most assistance in understanding rules, family, and nurturing relationships. More photos of Brett are available. Brett has a grant of almost $7,600, which would make adoption much more affordable!

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Initial Application: Approved

How exciting for me, right?!? I am thrilled! Once I submit my agency deposit, it'll be time to get the ball rolling!

I already have a few fun fundraisers planned. The main one (ones?) will run continuously until I get to go and get my daughter. Once things are finalized with the agency, I will have more details but I want it to be a surprise! I hope y'all like it as it's been fun for me to start putting things together!

Thursday, October 3, 2013

This is my AT girl, Leanne!


Name: Leanne
Age: 11
Location: Asia
About: Leanne was born with Down Syndrome. She's a very bright and caring girl. Until recently, she was the youngest in her "family" (group home) and now has a little sister to dote on. She's a wonderful and caring big sister. Leanne is happy and lovely and loves to sing and dance.

People that have met Leanne are honestly surprised that she hasn't been adopted yet, she's that great of a girl! She is available to married couples and single moms. In Leanne's region, adoptions run $25,000-30,000 and there is typically one trip lasting 10-14 days. They prefer that at least one parent be 30-54 years old. On Reece's Rainbow, she currently has $2,700 in grant money to help her parents afford her adoption.

I would be thrilled if Leanne was on the "My Family Found Me" list before the end of the year. Are you her parent? Do you know someone who would be great parents for Leanne? If so, please share this thread. If you want more information on Leanne, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Initial Application is submitted!

I just got back from running some errands. One of those errands included putting my application in for a beautiful little girl from Eastern Europe! I shipped it priority and it should be to the agency by Thursday afternoon! I am so, so excited. And nervous. How can someone not be nervous when they know in their heart that a child belongs with them but everything ultimately depends on other people?! Also, I'm nervous that someone else's application will be received before mine.

In order to help raise funds for the adoption, I will be doing various fundraisers. I will make sure to mention all of them on here, as well as how you can enter. Currently, I am looking for large size baby food jars or small canning jars. If you have any you can spare, please let me know. If you're local, I'd be more than willing to come pick them up. If you'd have to ship them, I'd be willing to pay shipping.

One of the first activities I'll be doing, aside from selling a few things on Craigslist, is I'm going to be selling baked goods and homemade body wash at a few local craft shows. Depending on the success of this, I might start selling a few of the things online.

I will give an update on Leanne and the Angel Tree project tomorrow morning!